Plano Assault Attorney
Understanding Assault Charges in Texas
Assault charges in Texas are not something you should take lightly. If convicted for assault, you could face thousands of dollars in fines, long-term imprisonment, and a permanent criminal record. It is imperative that you select a Plano assault lawyer who you can depend on to get your charges reduced or dropped.
Law Offices of Bill J. Stovall is your top choice for aggressive representation against your criminal charges. As a former prosecutor, Bill Stovall has the knowledge, skills, and resources to help you fight for the best possible outcome. Whether you are facing misdemeanor or felony assault charges, having an experienced attorney on your side can mean the difference between a guilty or not guilty verdict.
Call (214) 972-0004 or contact the firm online to discuss your rights and options during a free consultation.
What is Assault?
Under Texas law, a person can be charged with assault when:
- They intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly caused bodily injury to another individual.
- They threatened another person in a way that caused them to fear for their safety.
- They had physical contact with another individual in a way that was reasonably considered offensive or provocative.
What are the Types of Assault Charges in Texas?
There are a variety of assault charges that you could face in Texas:
- Simple Assault - This is the lowest degree of assault. This type of offense occurs when an individual threatens someone or touches another person in a way that they consider to be offensive or provocative.
- Aggravated Assault - This is a more serious charge than simple assault. Assault becomes aggravated when the defendant inflicts severe physical harm or injury on the victim or used or brandished a deadly weapon during the assault.
- Assault with a Deadly Weapon - You will be charged with assault with a deadly weapon if you use or display a deadly weapon during the assault.
- Assault against a Public Servant - If the defendant committed assault against an officer, employee, or agent of the government than you will be charged with assault against a public servant
- Domestic Violence Assault -You will be charged with domestic violence assault when assault is committed against a family member, current or former partner, or a household member.
What are the Penalties for Assault in Texas?
When an individual is convicted for assault in Texas, they can face a range of punishments depending on whether the crime was charged as a misdemeanor or felony. Misdemeanors are considered less severe and are therefore punished less severely than felonies.
The penalties for assault charges according to their classification include:
- Class C misdemeanor assault – a fine of up to $500
- Class B misdemeanor assault – up to 180 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,000
- Class A misdemeanor assault – up to one year in jail and/or a fine of up to $4,000
- Third-degree felony assault – 2 to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000
- Second-degree felony assault – 2 to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000
- First-degree felony assault – 5 to 99 years or life in prison and a fine of up to $10,000
How to Get False Assault Charges Dismissed in Plano, TX
It is important to consult with a Plano criminal defense attorney, such as the Law Offices of Bill J. Stovall who is experienced in handling false assault charges in Plano, TX. We can advise you on the best strategies for your specific case, but some general strategies that may be used include:
- Gathering evidence to support your innocence, such as witness statements or surveillance footage.
- Presenting a strong alibi to show that you were not at the location of the alleged assault at the time it occurred.
- Demonstrating that the accuser has a motive to falsely accuse you, such as a recent breakup or ongoing dispute.
- Hiring a private investigator to gather evidence and interview witnesses.
- Having a good legal representation to negotiate with the prosecution for a plea bargain or to present a strong defense in court.
It is important to remember that every case is unique and the specific facts and circumstances will determine the best course of action. It is always recommended to speak with a Collin County criminal defense attorney as soon as possible after the charges have been filed.
Defenses for Assault
Depending on the circumstances, some common defenses for assault include:
- You were acting in self-defense or defending someone else
- You have been falsely accused of the crime of assault
- You were acting under duress or force
- There is no compelling evidence supporting the charge against you
If you have been charged with assault, there is too much at stake to not take action. Obtain the help of a skilled Plano assault attorney to ensure the protection of your rights and freedom.
Call the Law Offices of Bill J. Stovall at (214) 972-0004 to begin formulating a strong defense.